I-STREET CROYDON SHORTLIST News / Media / Publication / 10.07.2017

McGregor Coxall have been shortlisted in the Croydon iStreet competition, working in collaboration with Denton Corker Marshall, Momentum Transport Planning, Wolfströme, 18 Degrees and Intellectsoft.

Backed by Croydon Council and organised by the Architects Journal, the free-to-enter competition was launched in April this year in a bid to find innovative technology-led proposals to transform the public realm within the major south London town centre. The contest received more than 60 submissions from teams of architects, technology experts, urban planners and landscape designers based around the world. The brief for the commission – which has a £2 million guide budget – called for deliverable ideas to challenge Croydon’s post-war streetscape, upgrade pedestrian movement and wayfinding, and simultaneously provide visitors with information about upcoming local events.

Councillor Alison Butler, Croydon Council cabinet member for homes, regeneration and planning and the council’s deputy leader, said: ‘We had a range of fascinating entries, all of which were of a high standard and made shortlisting quite a difficult task. ‘We are really excited to see the chosen designs developed further and to learn more about how they will assist people navigate around Croydon as regeneration in the borough intensifies.’

The contest forms part of the borough’s £350 million Growth Zone programme, which is being delivered with the Mayor of London and is made up of 39 key projects, including transport, schools and community infrastructure, regeneration and public realm improvements, and support for small businesses. The council wanted solutions that were workable, cost-effective and promote physical interaction with the chosen streets. 

Competition judges include Allford Hall Monaghan Morris director Paul Monaghan, BBC journalist Razia Iqbal, Croydon chief executive Jo Negrini; the deputy leader of Croydon Council and the borough’s cabinet member for homes, regeneration and planning, Alison Butler; Sarah Luxford, director at Nexec Leaders; and AJ news editor Richard Waite.

Each of the shortlisted teams receives a £2,000 honorarium to participate in the competition’s second stage. The winning project will have the opportunity to be developed into a fully functional scheme rolled out across Croydon. Final judging will be held at the end of this month (26 July), with the victorious team announced in August. Designs by all of the shortlisted teams will be published in the AJ next month. 

[Adapted from AJ 6 July, 2017 By Merlin Fulcher]