QUEENS RD GATEHOUSE OPENS

QUEENS RD GATEHOUSE OPENS News / Project Opening / Project New Photos / 27.01.2017

Parramatta Park Trust is undertaking a major upgrade of the 'Paddocks Precinct' as part of a $20 Capital Works Program across the Park. This includes an $8.7 million investment into a new regional playground, new picnic shelters, barbecue facilities, public toilets, the restoration of the Queens Road Gatehouse and pathways to enhance the visitor experience. McGregor Coxall worked with CHROFI Architects on the landscape concept for the queens gatehouse. The project features the construction of a new pavilion extension while ensuring the best heritage outcomes for the site. McGregor Coxall scope included restoration of the traditional English garden landscapes at entrances to the park and strengthening of existing boundary planting. The original Queens Road gatehouse was erected in 1873. The existing gatehouse is retained as the larger of the two dwelling-like structures and is anchored as the primary focal point of the composition. The new form and integrated landscape strategy knits together the diverse layers of the site, resulting in a pair of small, cottage-like buildings nestled within a garden, surveying the parklands beyond.


OTHER NEWS